2012 Community Development Award Winners
Gail Ross gives a highly entertaining acceptance speech that makes everyone laugh.

We are happy to say several CEDAM members received awards at the 2012 Building Michigan Communities Conference.

CEDAM CED Advocate of the Year
Gail Ross, Executive Director of the Hancock Housing Commission

Given to the organization or person who has done the most to advance community economic development in Michigan. Through tremendous perseverance and many hours of hard work, Gail and the Hancock Housing Commission opened the doors of Quincy Haven Apartments in August 2011.

One minute video with footage of Quincy Haven Apartments.

CEDAM Innovator of the Year
Vanguard CDC

Presented to an inventive CEDAM member that has enlightened the field with new programming, best practices, or policy leadership. Vanguard’s programs extend from a community news phone service to a prisoner reentry and reintegration program.

One minute video

Vanguard award photo
Scott Allen Davis, Executive Director of Vanguard CDC, and Jamie Schriner-Hooper watch the award introduction video on stage.

HFH Affiliate of the Year
Blue Water Habitat for Humanity (CEDAM member!)

Given to an outstanding Habitat for Humanity affiliate. In 2011, Blue Water Habitat for Humanity contributed over 30,000 hours to construction, deconstruction, advocacy and other projects. Blue Water also participated in the 2011 Legislators Building Communities event.

One minute video

MSHDA Housing Counseling Agency of the Year
Center for Financial Health (CEDAM member!)

In 2011 alone, the Center served more than 700 households by helping homeowners forego foreclosure and assisting new home buyers realize their goal of homeownership.

MSHDA Counselor of the Year
Laura Castone, Amandla Community Development Corporation

Laura Castone has successfully negotiated satisfactory home retention options for more than 200 Detroit based homeowners and has helped improve the financial management skills and credit awareness of hundreds more.

MDRC Corrie Bair Building Inclusive Communities Award
Cheryl Trommater

Granted to an individual making communities and housing accessible to all. Cheryl Trommater advanced numerous initiatives to address what people with developmental disabilities need to live independently.

One and a half minute video

CSH Julie Sandorf Award
Teri Durian

Recognizes tenants who demonstrate leadership in supportive housing. Teri Durian created support groups for her fellow tenants and makes personal donations to buy food for tenants who do not have enough to eat.

One minute video

FHLBI Michigan Community Spirit Award
Bernie Williams, CEO of Wanagas Credit Union

Awarded to an individual in the banking industry who is dedicated to affordable housing and community economic development. Under Bernie Williams’ leadership, Wanagas Credit Union helped many households and first-time home buyers.

One minute video

Duvernay Award

“You can’t look back in your life and find too many people that have that big an impact on you… Terry was certainly one of them.” – Jim Logue

The Duvernay Award is presented annually by MSHDA to the person who best reflects the ideals and personal qualities exhibited by Terry. The video below vividly demonstrates those ideals and qualities through people who knew Terry best, including Doug Shelby, Patricia Lake, Dwight Robinson, Jim Logue, Linda Smith, Jonathan Bradford, Eugene Kuthy and Mark McDaniel.

Evelyn Brown was announced as the winner of the 2012 Duvernay Award.