Nominations Needed for Upcoming Awards

trophyCEDAM Members, consider nominating yourself or an organization you know for one of the following awards. Deadlines are soon – don’t delay. Good luck!

  • NACEDA Managing Neighborhood Change Collaborative Competition: “Building Markets” Award (due Sunday, Feb. 28)
  • CEDAM Innovator of the Year Award (due Friday, March 12)
  • NLIHC State and Local Organizing Award (due Friday, March 12)

NACEDA Managing Neighborhood Change Collaborative Competition: “Building Markets” Award

Everyone is invited to submit a strategy or project that their CDC or organization uses to strengthen neighborhood housing markets. Examples of what this might include are marketing, neighborhood stability, and neighborhood quality of life initiatives. The deadline for entries is February 28. The winner of the competition will be announced the same day and receive a $250 honorarium.

See competition rules or submit an entry (you will be prompted to register first).

CEDAM Innovator of the Year Award

This award is presented to a CEDAM member organization that has engaged in creative new programming, has been involved in an exciting new development, or has generally proven to be a leader in advancing new policies, strategies, or best practices in community economic development. Please send nominations (including a few sentences on why this organization deserves this award) to by March 12, 2010. You may nominate your own organization.

This year’s winner will receive a 3-5 minute video mission statement (produced by CEDAM staff) and 5 free tickets to attend CEDAM’s Annual Membership Celebration,where the award will be presented. The past winner in 2008 was NCCS Center for Nonprofit Housing in Newaygo.

NLIHC State and Local Organizing Award

National Low Income Housing Coalition is soliciting nominations for this award, which will be presented at NLIHC’s Annual Housing Policy Conference this April. Eligible organizations are those that were NLIHC members during the 2009 calendar year. Organizations may self-nominate.

The award will be given for a 2009 outstanding achievement in organizing activity at the state or local level. Such activity could include, but is not limited to: a significant legislative victory at the state or local level, significant progress on a state or local legislative campaign, or significant progress in building a resident-driven organization.

The deadline for nominations is 5 pm ET on Friday, March 12. The honoree will be notified before NLIHC’s annual conference, scheduled for April 11-14. Two representatives of the honored organization will receive free conference registration as well as complimentary hotel accommodations and transportation to Washington to accept the award.

To nominate an organization, send an email to with the subject Organizing Award. The body of the email should contain the following information:

  • Name of and contact information for nominated organization
  • Name of and contact information for nominating person/organization (if different)
  • Description of the organization’s achievement in the area of state and local organizing in 2009, and how that achievement assists in the furthering of NLIHC’s mission (1,000 word maximum)
  • If appropriate, supporting materials, such as press clips or campaign materials, that describe the activity or its impact (optional; should be attached to the email in the form of a .pdf)

The submitted essay or a version of it may be circulated to NLIHC conference attendees and members and/or posted on NLIHC’s website.

Questions? Need to verify if the organization you’d like to nominate is a member? Contact Kim Schaffer, Director of Outreach and Communications, at